September 16, 2010

  • Audience Au24 "e," Part 1

    When I was a little kid in the mid-70s, I didn't know anything about the history of pop music.  All I did was turn on the radio and listen.  Eric Carmen's "All By Myself" is often parodied.  But I looked it up, and discovered that it came out 35 years ago, in 1975.  Geez, that was when my brother was born.

    But anyway, while "All By Myself" may be the more popular song, my favorite is "Never Gonna Fall In Love Again," based on the third movement of Sergei Rachmaninoff's Second Symphony.  This sweet and lovely song was played at my wedding banquet.

    But as a child, I heard this song a couple times in my room.  Because of other buildings and trees, I could not see Geary Street from my bedroom.  Were I able to peer through the trees, I would have seen the above.

    Most of the audio products I blog about come from other audiophiles.  One was kind enough to send me his Audience Au24 "e" speaker cables.  I have been doing this blog for over 5 years.  Back then, I did audition Audience's original Au24 interconnects.  But as my friends were obsessed with the super-expensive Nordost Valhalla, they ignored the Audience.  Thus, we never really spend any quality time with Audience.

    Included in the box were instructions, telling you to pay attention to the signal flow indicators.

    Signal flow is clearly marked on the heatshrink wrap.  But sigh, the Au24 "e" comes in the ubiquitous black-colored outer jacket.  No wonder my audio buddies overlooked the drab Audience, in favor of the snazzy cosmetics of the Nordost line.  I do like the fact that the Au24 "e" is skinny.  And if the string-like Q-Audio Tao is too delicate for you, you'll appreciate the Au24 "e's" stiffness.

    Aiden is baffled as to why audiophiles like spades.  Five years ago, I remember Audience automatically making spades standard equipment.

    But Audience do give you the option of bananas.  Hooray!

    Okay, let's not waste any time.  Let's get the Au24 "e" onto the Cable Cooker.  At one time, Audio Excellence AZ, which sell the Cable Cooker, used to carry Audience.  At the bottom of their website, they still do list being a dealer/rep for Audience.  So perhaps Alan Kafton can tell you more about Cooking Audience's products.