September 15, 2010

  • MIT Magnum M3.3bw, Part 6

    20 years ago, most of my UCSC dormmates were wannabe hippies.  They listened to alternative and folk music.  Duran Duran had fallen so far out of favor, that they were part of the "alternative" market.  My friend's roommate had Duran Duran's Liberty album.  It sucks.  But it does have one great song, "Serious."

    Now that I think about it, I don't recall the UC Santa Cruz campus having ginkgo trees.  After having our ginkgo trees for over two years, I think they are finally starting to grow, albeit just a little bit.  Take a look at the branch.  Notice how the main part is brown.  But the tip is a yellowish-green.  Hopefully, that yellowish-green stem turns to brown wood.  In that fashion, the next year's leaves can grow on top of the turned-to-wood portion, and thus, the tree can acquire length.  Sigh, even if that becomes true, it means that the tree will grow annually one leaf at a time.

    My first two years at UCSC, I lived in the dorms.  That meant eating in the dining halls, where they were all-you-can-eat buffets.  I did not mind the dishes themselves.  I just didn't like the poor quality of the ingredients, and the way Marriott butchered the execution. 

    Well, the Cable Cooker keeps "growing."  When we acquired it 7 years ago, we though we'd use it once, and be done with it.  How wrong we are!  We did not anticipating bringing in cable after cable.  We did not realize that cables can be "recharged" annually.  And so far, the only thing we not been able to Cook is the Tara Labs Power Screen AD/6C.  The Cable Cooker's ability to treat so many products is like going to an all-you-can-eat buffet.

    I haven't tried an MIT speaker cable since the mid-90s, when I had the Terminator 2.  My friends and I were mildly apprehensive, when hooking up the MIT Magnum M3.3bw to the Cooker.  But fear not.  Like every other MIT product, the Magnum M3.3 has no quirks with the Cable Cooker.  Be aware that you'll have to treat the M3.3bw's high and low outputs separately.  And again, make sure you label the signal flow direction on the leads.

    When Duran Duran sing, "Did you have to be serious?," the answer is emphatically "YES," when it comes to getting a Cable Cooker.  As I've said many times over, the Cable Cooker is, for any audiophile, mandatory equipment.