April 15, 2010

  • MIT MI-330 Plus Series Two, Part 6

    I started going to Laurel Hill Playground around 1980.  We did not use the tennis court and swings much.  But it had a baseball field and basketball court, which were all we needed.  Unlike San Francisco's other playgrounds, Laurel Hill wasn't ghetto.  It was safer and cleaner.  Interestingly, even if the weather were foggy and windy, it would be okay down at field level.  You see, Laurel Hill Playground is cut out of the side of a hill.  The wind and fog pass high above the playground itself.

    Boston's Fenway Park had the Green Monster.  Laurel Hill Playground had the Gray Monster.  Well, now it is the Orange Monster.  Some time in the early 90s, the City painted the walls orange.  Perhaps they wanted to adopt the San Francisco Giants' colors.

    At the same time my family "discovered" Laurel Hill Playground in 1980, I started to discover Genesis on the radio.  It was mostly due to "Misunderstanding," which can be found on Duke.  But I absolutely loved "Turn It On Again," which, despite being a fan favorite, got very little airplay.  Today, it still receives very little airplay.  So that is why, when CDs became popular, I just bought Duke, and brought it with me to audio stores and shows. 

    Anyway, "Turn It On Again" is about a viewer believing that the characters on TV are his/her friends.  I was 8 years old in 1980, so it was common for me and my classmates to believe that the characters on TV were not just real, but our friends.

    Okay, it is time to turn the Cable Cooker on again.  When MIT tell you not to use an active cable burn-in device, there must be some misunderstanding.  I don't know about other machines, but there is nothing wrong or awry with using the Cable Cooker on MIT products, including the MI-330 Plus Series Two above.  There must be some kind of mistake on MIT's part; the Cable Cooker has always worked flawlessly and without incident on the MIT products I've had.  I do not know what an audiiophile watches on TV, but from the MI-330 Plus Series Two's perspective, the Cable Cooker is its best friend.