April 14, 2010

  • MIT MI-330 Plus Series Two, Part 5

    Naming yourself after a Village People song is not normal.  But that's exactly what Brits Peter Cox and Richard Drummie did.  25 years ago, marketers tried to force Go West as the next Wham.  Just because Go West were a duo from the U.K. doesn't make them the next Wham.  Nevertheless, I loved Go West's driving "We Close Our Eyes" and boppy "Call Me."

    Yesterday, I mentioned Laurel Hill Playground.  It was cool to bring a boombox, and hear Go West there.  I've used Go West's material as audiophile reference, and it should (a) be enjoyable, and (b) remind me of spring 1985.  Even if you play Go West's "Don't Look Down," it is okay to stand atop Laurel Hill Playground, and look down.  Growing up in San Francisco, it was funny to hear the term "go west."  For us, that meant crossing the Pacific, and ending up in, say, Japan!

    In the mid-90s, when Electronic World on Clement Street carried MIT, across the street was Busvan, a furniture store.  I loved that place.  Busvan closed during the 2000 dotcom boom.  I went by recently, and that space is still vacant.  In fact, the old Busvan signs are still on the building!

    Anyway, when reviewing MIT products, I of course have to show the network boxes.  I have to admit, the terminator box on the MI-330 Plus Series Two reminds me of some of the unusual pieces at Busvan.

    Readers frequently e-mail me.  They ask me to continue providing pictures of audio equipment, my kids, and San Francisco.  We are only happy to oblige   Aiden was listening to Go West's "Eye To Eye," when he was fooling around with his camera.

    With flash photography, the MI-330 PS2 is a bone-beige color.  Some of the buildings around Laurel Hill Playground and Busvan are that color.  But anyway, the other side of the MI-330 PS2's box is labeled, "Output Terminator."