June 6, 2015

  • Audio Magic Premier Beeswax Super Fuse, Part 1

    In 2003, I had an Audio Magic Sorcerer QL interconnect. At the time, I had hundreds of audio products competing for my attention. So I honestly do not recall much about the Sorcerer QL. It was a tonearm-to-phonostage cable, which went from a Koetsu Black/Basis 2000/Graham Robin to an EAR 324 phonostage. Furthermore, QL may have stood for Quantum Leap. At any rate, that Sorcerer QL was the first Audio Magic product I ever had. I would later add Audio Magic powerline conditioners.

    I think it has been a decade, since I last used Audio Magic products. Half a year ago, one of my audiophile friends kept talking about the Audio Magic Nano-Liquid Premium fuses ($69 each) he was using in his myriad vacuum tube gear. He consistently told me that, due to the treble being drowned out by the mids and bass, these fuses were canted towards the Stereotypical Audiophile sound. Thus, while my interest was mildly piqued, it wasn't enough for me to act.
    IMG_1857
    My audio friends have replaced their older after-market fuses with newer and/or more upscale ones. Since they no longer have a need for their older fuses, they have been lending some to me. I could have gone the safe route, and just defaulted to the Hi-Fi Tuning Supreme. But I discovered that Audio Magic do produce their fuses in a slow-blow 20mm 0.500A spec, which would work in the several of my electronic components. If the $175 Premier Beeswax Super Fuse doesn't work well or sound good in one component, we have other electronic components, which can use the 0.500A slow-blow spec.
    IMG_1861
    Audio Magic take an OEM fuse, and carefully drill a small hole through one of the end caps. They have to be careful, not to damage or destroy the fragile filament. Audio Magic then squeeze various liquids through the tiny hole, to fill (not completely; there are still tiny pockets or bubbles of space/air) the inside of the fuse. Ostensibly, this is done to quell vibrations.
    IMG_1863
    Sigh, when I showed ACS the Premier Beeswax Super Fuse, she shrugged, and wondered, "Does the beeswax spill or splatter all over the place, like when I have to pee in a friggin' cup?" Then she flashed that ebullient smile, and said, "Maybe they were inspired by condoms filled with semen. I'm sure they'd like to have certain body cavities filled with semen!"

    Anyway, Audio Magic do have less expensive fuses, filled with other materials. They claim that the beeswax is even more difficult to squeeze into the fuse. As of this writing, the beeswax-filled fuse is Audio Magic's most expensive.

    After giving it more thought, ACS asked, "Why beeswax? Why not bird spit, Sex Wax, earwax, boogers, eye crud, blood, or pussy juice?" After a pregnant pause, ACS then shrugged, "Or maybe they did try those other things, and really did find beeswax to be the best."
    IMG_1866
    In the mid-90s, you'd say, "Shut your hole," to those who talked too much. To close the drilled-out hole in the fuse, Audio Magic then apply some solder. While one end cap is pristine, you can tell which end cap was worked on ["All this," quoth ACS, "sounds like fellatio"].

    Audio Magic then subject their liquid-filled fuses to a high-voltage "nano-stream" process. They claim that this treatment improves the fuses' conductivity. ACS wonders what the high-voltage nano-stream treatment would have done for her dildos, or to a penis. Sigh...