July 14, 2014

  • Totem Element Fire, Part 5

    In the early-90s, when I first became aware of the original Totem Model 1, it was available in black ash and mahogany. In perhaps late 1993, Totem then came out with that gorgeous "Aboriginal" light cherry. Around 1995, Totem then came up with the equally-gorgeous maple finish. As my readers know, I bought Totem's Model 1 Signature, Hawk, Forest, and Mani-2 Signature in that pretty maple finish.
    Totem Acoustic model1
    In the mid-90s, ACS worked at Victoria's Secret. I was always fascinated by all the different styles and colors of lingerie she'd bring home. For my 24th birthday, she modeled several sets. She could tell from my body language, which styles worked better/worse than others.

    In the early-2000s, TLS, who was an admin, loved Victoria's Secret bras and panties. However, she didn't make much money, so she wisely limited her lingerie purchases to either black or white. Similarly, Totem only make the Element Fire in either Dusk black or Ice white. Ironically, the Element Fire is not available in Totem's so-called "Fire" red gloss finish. That would have been awesome. Since we're going with the better-looking (versus the Dusk black) Ice finish, why not get a speaker stand in matching gloss white? Enter the Billy Bags #1214.
    IMG_0797
    Readers will recall that we had a custom Billy Bags #1214 under the Totem Model 1 Signature. That stand was in the silver finish. This time around, we asked Billy Bags if they could make the #1214 in white. To our surprise, they responded, "Matte or gloss?" We chose the latter. Take a close look. Notice that the #1214 is a three-post design.

    Okay, let's go back to Valentine's Day 1992, when ACS visited me at UCSC. That weekend, her main academic goal was to write a paper on vampires. When ACS was at my bathroom sink, she looked at her reflection in the mirror. She asked, "If vampires can't see their reflection in the mirror, how do they comb their hair or brush their teeth?"

    I answered, "They're undead. They are rotting corpses, so brushing teeth is out of the question. If it's a guy vampire, maybe he shouldn't shave his own face. Maybe he has to go to a barber, and have the barber give him a shave. And honey, maybe they just wake up from the coffin with perfect hair."

    I had the top bunk, which I gave to ACS. I was going to sleep on my roommate's bottom bunk, but ACS insisted that we both sleep up top. ACS stared at the ceiling, and then said, "Picture mirrors on the ceiling." She suggested we each play the role of a vampire having sex. We got into various sexual positions, while she asked, "If you were the vampire, what would you see in the mirror?" ACS got into the cowgirl position, leaned forward, looked me in the eye, and asked what I saw in the mirror.

    I looked into her eyes, and responded, "I wouldn't be able to see the mirror; your head is blocking my view."

    Look at the photo above. Notice that the #1214's two pillars are in front. In this configuration, the treble and mids are fast, but they leave the bass behind. Thus, PRAT is fucked up, kind of like two people being out of sync, while trying to have intercourse.

    ACS got into the reverse cowgirl position, then asked me what I'd see in a ceiling mirror. I looked up at the white ceiling, and said, "Uh, the top of your head."

    We then switched, so that ACS played the role of a vampiress. We got into sitting, doggie, spoons, and missionary positions. ACS glanced at the ceiling, furled her brow, shrugged, and said, "Eh, if we put a camcorder on the ceiling, that would be what I'd see in the mirror." When we got into the T-square position (not easy, on a Twin XL mattress), ACS looked up at the imaginary ceiling mirror, and laughed, "You look like a dead fish!"
    IMG_0798
    Now rotate the Billy Bags speaker stand 180-degrees, so that the single pillar is in the front. NOW, there aren't any tonal anomalies. This is partially why my friends and I have found each and every speaker stand to have its own influence on the Totem Element Fire. Not only that, but if you use an asymmetrical speaker stand, be sure to try it both ways. Sounds kinky but isn't. With the custom 3-pillar Billy Bags #1214, the Fire sounds best with the single post in front, two poles in the rear. Sounds kinky and is!