January 17, 2012

  • Primare A33.2, Part 3

    During heavy metal's boom in the late-80s, Lillian Axe were unknown.  So when they soldiered on during the grunge revolution, they continued to go unnoticed. 

    At the end of 1991, KJ (above) and I broke up.  So for the first parts of 1992, I didn't notice a lot of things.  Lillian Axe's Poetic Justice was one of 1992's very first albums to be released.  Geez, even if they released it in time for the 1991 holidays, it's doubtful that sales would have been any higher. 

    Audiophiles don't notice a lot of things.  That's why they have me to dig out products' details.  They may or may not have noticed that the Primare A33.2 is available in ugly black or the much better-looking "titanium."  Notice that all sides are covered in this aluminum-colored finish.  Unlike the CD31 and PRE30 I previously reviewed, the A33.2 has a perforated top.  Yes, that does mean that dust can and will enter via those ventilation slats.

    Like the CD31 and PRE30, the A33.2's faceplate juts out from the main chassis.  That groove behind the faceplate collects dust.

    I don't think I found out about Poetic Justice until late May or early June of 1992.  Perhaps it was my friend Ken, who introduced it to me.  But anyway, by June 1992, KJ and I were on better terms.  Even then, KJ commented that Poetic Justice sounded "dated."  But once she got past the sound, she realized that the album wasn't bad at all, certainly more enjoyable than the shitty grunge, which was all the rage back then.

    I had a difficult time maneuvering the A33.2 into place.  It weighs around 45 pounds, with most of that weight (due to the two toroidal transformers) just behind the faceplate.