October 26, 2010

  • MIT Oracle v2.2ic, Part 2

    When I entered Lowell High School 25 years ago, Walkmen were popular.  But somehow, Stevie Wonder's In Square Circle just did not find an audience out at Lowell.  I suppose my classmates didn't have the patience for "Overjoyed."  I didn't mind "Part-Time Lover," but apparently, it annoyed my classmates.  And of course, In Square Circle features "Go Home," which was part of that famous synthesizer jam at the Grammies, with Wonder, Herbie Hancock, Howard Jones, and Thomas Dolby.

    When I had catechism at St. Edward's, I'd often drop by the "5 and Dime," which is now an Ace hardware.  Notice that, as you face west, you can see fog.

    If you look eastward, you'll find that the sky is fog-free.  I am not exactly sure, but I think that, by 1985, Performance Audio had already moved further down California Street, between Divisadero and Broderick.  In the mid-90s, Performance Audio became an MIT dealer.  Because of that, whenever I'm near Laurel Hill, I tend to think about MIT.

    You can't burn in any cable, let alone an MIT, simply by using regular playing time.

    You need a proper device, such as the Audio Dharma Cable Cooker.  And once again, there are no problems, issues, or hiccups between the Cooker and MIT interconnects, including the Oracle v2.2ic, above.

    The Oracle v2.2 has the standard three impedance settings.  These settings are so that you can match the interconnect to the receiving component's input impedance.  I recommend that you subject each of the three settings to 24 hours of Cook time.