July 12, 2010

  • MIT Oracle v3.2ic, Part 2

    25 years ago, my Oceanography classmates were wondering what the heck Prince's "Raspberry Beret" was about.  It's about a teenager working in a five-and-dime, when a girl comes in, wearing a raspberry beret.  They have sex, and instead of regretting the experience, the boy cherishes it.

    Robotech New Generation's 22nd episode, The Big Apple, is lame.  But Princess Sera does tell Marlene that she (Marlene) is really an Invid named Ariel.  Marlene has always thought of herself as a human with amnesia, and is in denial of her Invid heritage.

    My tree does not have big apples.  In fact, the little crabapple fruit is still rather dark in color.  They are supposed to be a bit brighter and lighter.

    Some readers have told me that the crabapple fruit looks like coffee beans.  Well, if I think of them as Kona coffee beans, maybe they'll trick me into thinking I'm in Hawaii.

    When MIT revamped the original "point-1" Oracle series to "point-2" status, one upgrade was to make the metal (all the other MIT products I've reviewed here had plastic boxes) with a "Ferrari" [MIT's word] silver paint.

    Like the S3.3ic I reviewed earlier this year, the Oracle v3.2ic has a three-position impedance switch.  Do note that the bands overlap.  So if your receiving component has an impedance between two of the v3.2ic's settings, simply experiment.