April 17, 2009

  • Sony CDP-X707ES, Part 5

    25 years ago, Rick Springfield had what was arguably his last hit, with "Love Somebody."  My neighbors and I loved that song, which fit right up there with the Footloose soundtrack. By 1984, I had heard of Sony's ES line.  But I had not yet heard about the CD.

    "Hey, can I get some privacy?" shouts Tessa. 

    Okay, let's take a look at the front of the Sony CDP-X707ES.

    The unit has a front panel on/off switch.  Nowadays, many CD players have a "standby" mode.  The X707ES does not.  But that's okay.  The X707ES only consumes 38W.  And it turns on and off quickly.  Unlike most high-end audio CD players, the X707ES has a headphone jack, as I chronicled earlier.

    The X707ES does have Shuffle Play.  And you can turn the display off.  Do note that this model does not have the elapsed disc time function.  But it does have elapsed track time, remaining track time (hooray!), and remaining disc time.

    The drawer doesn't open as lickety-split as others, but it is smooth.

    Unlike high-end audio CD players, the X707ES' fast search really is fast.  I love it!  You can turn on or off the digital outputs (coaxial and Toslink).  And there are little lights above the Play and Pause buttons.

Comments (1)

  • What is the difference between a fast and slow search? I'm guessing seconds or fractions of seconds? Or is there really a big difference?

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment