May 7, 2008

  • MIT Oracle 2C3D Digital, Part 2

    When I attended Presidio Middle School, one of our "rivals" was Roosevelt:

    Like many SFUSD properties, Roosevelt sits on prime real estate.  Roosevelt is conveniently located on Arguello near Geary.  However, I lived in the Western Addition, where my assigned middle school was Ben Franklin.  As such, I never understood Presidio's dislike of Roosevelt, whose demographic was exactly the same as Presidio's.  I didn't care whom we played; I just wanted to win!

    Anyway, whenever my teams played on the road, a song that inspired us was the Talking Heads' "Burning Down The House."  It's hard to believe that it came out 25 years ago.  Seems like yesterday...

    I still have on hand the Conrad Johnson DR-1 CD transport, which you can see on the bottom shelf.  I've been using it to help break-in the MIT Oracle 2C3D Digital cable.

    MIT has been partnered with Spectral and Classe', but not Mark Levinson.  That's not to say that Levinson and MIT products don't work well or sound great together.  Above, we're using the Mark Levinson No. 390S as a transport (where it sounds "clearer" than the CJ DR-1).

    And here, the No. 390S is used as a DAC, being fed by the DR-1.  The No. 390S' DAC section does sound different from that of the Simaudio Supernova.

    But what you guys really want to know is, can the Oracle 2C3D go on the Cable Cooker?  The answer is an unequivocable yes!  You see, in the early 90s, some MIT cables did not like the Duo-Tech Cable Enhancer.  So, audiophiles jumped to the conclusion that no MIT product can be used on such devices.  This, of course, is patently false.  All of the MIT products I've tried on the Cable Cooker are fine.  At worst, says Alan Kafton, the MIT's built-in networks may cause the Cooker to oscillate, and shut itself down as a safety precaution.  But there will be NO damage to either the cable(s) or the Cooker.  So...let's get those MIT products on the Cooker, and burn down the house!

Comments (1)

  • old buildings scare me...looks like a fire hazard to me

    10% probably marked the wrong one...or have the michael jackson syndrome...(think they are white)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment