March 3, 2011

  • Cardas Quadlink 5-C, Part 2

    Honeymoon Suite's The Big Prize sounds like the precursor to Bon Jovi.  Actually, it came out when I was a freshman at nerdy Lowell High.  Thus, the album cover portended what many of our weddings would look like.  Just kidding.  Interestingly, it shows Niagara Falls from the Canadian side.  But there is an explanation for that: Honeymoon Suite were Canadian.  Funny how the foreign-looking guy is taking a picture of the couple's flank.

    Speaking of taking pictures, I had some fun, using the macro lens.  After being dormant in winter, my crabapple tree is sprouting new flowers.

    Aiya!  Here, the macro photography, with the blurred background, looks like I used Photoshop!

    No Photoshop needed here, on the Cardas Quadlink 5-C's receiving RCAs.  This design is from the 80s, so old school.  But it's not one of those modern locking-RCAs, so I love it!

    By the time I got a CD player in 1987, Big Prize was hard to find on CD.  In any format, this album was not widely-known, so record stores didn't feel the need to stock it.  Trying to get it on CD was like jumping through hoops.  But anyway, one of the last times I heard "Feel It Again" on the radio was on that magical field trip to Moss Beach.  "Feel It Again" is thus one of my all-time favorites.  So damn it, if an audio product plays "Feel It Again," it better make me feel like I'm in that bus, traveling down Highway 1, on that gorgeous sunny April '86 day.

    In 1986, I only knew about Monster Cable.  My Interlink-400 had "turbine-cut" RCAs.  Physically, these Cardas RCAs kick the Monsters' ass.  But audiophiles want to know what are those rings at the Quadlink 5-C's sending end.  A few have speculated that they are ferrite RF blockers.  I don't know the answer.  Anyone?